Removing, Archiving, Reinstating and Cloning Groups

Follow

As you begin to expand the number of groups you are managing in Ponder, several features come in handy.

The "Remove" button permanently deletes a group that you no longer need. Note: you can only* remove a group if you are the only member of that group. This is a precaution to avoid inadvertently zapping other user's activity.

If an old group that does have other users in it is getting in your way, you can de-clutter with the "Archive" feature. Archive will freeze a group in time - its tab will be removed from all response boxes, so no one will be able to create new micro-responses in it. The activity feed will all remain accessible in the group drop-down, but in a separate section for archived groups. Once archived, the group button in your settings panel will have an upside-down "A" in it to indicate the archived state.

Archive classes can be reinstated at any point in the future - when you archive a class, the button will change color and read "Reinstate". 

Finally, "Cloning" a group is handy if you are teaching several sections of identical or similar classes. First, set up one group the way you'd like it - configure the reading list, course packet, themes and sentiments - then use the clone button to create as many identical copies of the class as you would like. Then go back and modify the names to add section or period numbers. Each of the cloned groups will have unique invitation links, so you can join your students to the correct ones. 

*If you'd like to remove a group but are getting an error about it having students in it, contact support and we can help you handle it.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk